A’s lose to Indians after Angel Hernandez blows game-tying HR call … twice
Down 4-3 to the Indians in the ninth inning, Oakland shortstop Adam Rosales hit what he, his teammates and everyone in the stands thought was a game-tying home run off Cleveland closer Chris Perez. But second base umpire and crew chief Angel Hernandez ruled the hit—which struck a railing behind the wall in left field before bouncing back onto the field—a double.
The video replay seemed to show it was indeed a homer, but when Hernandez reviewed the play, he upheld his original ruling, to the shock of Rosales, A’s manager Bob Melvin (who was thrown out of the game for arguing the call), and the media.
Though Oakland put the next two batters on to load the bases, Seth Smith grounded out to end the game. After the game, Hernandez took questions from reporters on his controversial call.