Trout out? Possible missed call may have aided cycle by Angels’ star
Did Mike Trout’s cycle benefit from a blown call at first base? Here’s a slowed-down replay from MLB.com showing him racing Mariners pitcher Aaron Harang to the bag in the third inning.
After receiving the underhanded toss from Justin Smoak, Harang looks as though he beat Trout by a split second thanks to some fancy footwork. First base umpire Vic Carapazza didn’t see it that way, perhaps conjuring a mental image of a race between the fleet-footed Angels outfielder and the decidedly less athletic Mariners hurler. The result was an infield single for the 21-year-old Trout, who would triple, double and then homer later in the game to become the youngest American League player ever to hit for the cycle.
If the call was indeed blown, it hardly rises to Worst Miscarriage of Umpire Justice This Month status, but it’s another data point in the argument that expanded instant replay can’t come soon enough.